Moreland School District

Skip to main content
Distinguished School Award
Mobile Menu

Student Leaders from Moreland's Middle Schools Participate in Safe Schools Ambassador Training

San Jose, May 27, 2022: Moreland School District is proud to announce that a select group of students from Moreland Middle School and Latimer Middle School were selected to participate in the Safe School Ambassadors training this week, a nationally recognized program that trains student leaders on campus through the power of positive student influence.

Safe School Ambassadors is a two-day evidence-based training program that is a student-centered model, educating diverse social student leaders with the knowledge and skills to resolve conflicts, defuse incidents, and support isolated and excluded students. Using an “inside-out” approach to building a caring and supportive school climate, the training focuses on the idea that student bystanders see, hear, and know things adults don’t, and have the ability to intervene in ways adults can’t. After this training, these students will continue to meet with trained middle school staff members who serve as program mentors, providing the time to strengthen their skills and help sustain their commitment to the program.

“These students have been incredibly engaged during their training and walked away with some powerful tools,” said Superintendent Dr. Clover Codd. “Our middle school administrators brought the influential social leaders on campus together and elevated our existing support to provide them with powerful communication and intervention skills. Our middle schools are among the best in the area and I’m so proud of these new School Ambassadors who will continue as caring and supportive leaders at our schools.”

The Moreland School District has three incredible middle school campuses. Student Ambassadors from Moreland Middle School and Latimer Middle School completed the initial two-day training. Students from Easterbrook Discovery Middle School will take part in the training during the 2022-2023 school year.